What Exactly IS a Squid?

“Today we’re going to draw a squid…”

That was how a recent Sketchbook Nation project began. A squid. Great. Uh, what exactly is a squid?

All I knew was that a squid was some sort of sea creature, so I followed the step-by-step guidelines. It’s not easy to draw something I’ve never seen, and I watched with fascination as this strange-looking image appeared.

Really Squid

Oh, so that’s what a squid looks like!

Yes, I’m being a little bit silly, but silliness is what I need today, and I hope my little squid brings a smile to your face. It’s joining a host of other sea creatures I’ve drawn over the last year: a sea turtle, an octopus, a dolphin, a shark. I haven’t tried a jellyfish yet.

Following along with the Sketchbook Nation project, I first drew the squid with graphite. After doing a little Google image search and seeing that what I drew really did look like a squid, I used one of my Pitt artist pens — 1,5 — to outline the contours and add a little shading. Next I grabbed my Prismacolor pencils and had a little fun.

I’ve now learned that “Squid are cephalopods of the order Teuthida.” Aren’t you delighted to know that?

Happy Monday!

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

15 comments

  1. dawnmarie

    Giggle. I like to eat them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. He’s even got a personality! hehe! Go, go, go!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

