A Flash of Color

On a recent visit to my husband’s family in Osceola, Missouri, I caught sight of a brilliant flash of color. As we got closer, I saw a bright, beautiful scarlet tanager. He settled on a nearby branch almost as if saying, “Paint me.”

So, I did. My colors aren’t as vivid as his. I’m still learning how to make bold hues with my watercolors. But I hope you like him. Scarlet

Happy Draw-a-Bird-in-June Day!

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

59 comments

  1. It’s been awhile since I saw one of these beautiful birds…lovely. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful bird! Great shapes too, Judith!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is lovely! You’ve captured him rather nicely I’d say πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Now you are my bird inspiration. I have not tried drawing and coloring birds yet. One day soon. Continue on inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dawnmarie

    Hey little birdie! I think I hear you singing now!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a lovely, delicate painting. I’ve never seen one of those before but I would love to. I can see why it would be inspirational.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jui

    nice and beautiful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. He IS BEAUTIFUL!!! Lovely job Judith!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. AWESOME painting, Judith!! YAY!! πŸŽ¨πŸ’•πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ohhhh yay! A scarlet tanager. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ClaudeDraws

    Such a beautiful picture:)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. He’s lovely! Very nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I am a bird lover and we also have tanagers, I would have join you all but I have enough on my hands! I can’t wait to see what is next πŸ™‚ your colors are bold by the way, definitely not wishy washy.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. This is gorgeous! And in my home state!! Love this one!! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Great image Judith. I think you had a really nice light touch with this one, the different colors and values are nicely in balance in my opinion, and you kept the background in check so the focus is on the bird. I hope you had a good time doing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I enjoyed painting the bird, but in the end I was a little disappointed that I couldn’t capture the brilliance of its colors. They’re so beautiful when you see them. Their red wings make such a startling contrast against the green fields of the countryside.

      Like

  16. Your comment above was exactly what I was thinking, too, Judith. To make his wings stand out more, put him against a green (or greenish) background (maybe set him against some leaves, you could do another one this way). Green being the opposite (various shades of green, doesn’t have to be grass green necessarily) makes red stand out more.

    But this bird is very delicate. There’s different kinds of feeling in art. Nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I was concerned about getting the background too dark. I guess I went too far in the opposite direction. I have a lot of trouble painting backgrounds. Mine always look messy.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Your painting is fine, but if you want it to be ‘bolder’, I guess you can go a bit more opaque with the bird, then a light green wash for the background. I wouldn’t worry about this painting, though. It’s very light and the hues work quite well. I’d hand it on my wall with a simple, dark walnut frame. Nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I should have thought about using opaque watercolors. Duh…I have a set from Grumbacher that I won in their “mystery box” contest one week.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Go for it! There are plenty of ways to make more intense colors like ‘underpainting’ with color pencils and glazing/layering.

        You’re lucky you got a set of Grumbachers from a mystery box. I only won once and it was a stub for a hotdog sandwich.

        Liked by 1 person

      • So many different techniques to learn πŸ™‚ I guess my second year of art will be as adventurous as the first!

        Liked by 1 person

      • There’s no end to learning. I always tell myself, the day I stop learning new things about my craft is the day I’d rather stop doing it. On with the adventure! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, at my live online class last night, we started on our ink wash project. We didn’t get too far, though. I hope we finish it up next week. We used a photo of a rocky shoreline as inspiration, but then spent almost the entire hour last night drawing in the rocks. The only wash we did was the sky and a bit of ocean.

        Like

      • That sounds like a fun class and I can tell you’re having a great time. I just bought myself a fresh bottle of India ink and I’m gonna try and do some washes over the weekend (that is, if I finish my animation shots tonight!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Go finish your work so you’ll have time to play!

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Pingback: Let’s Celebrate our June Draw a Bird Day artists! | Create art every day

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

