For the First Time

Some of you — my Facebook friends — may have already seen this watercolor. I like it well enough that I posted it there. This is, you see, the first time I’ve painted a leafy tree that I actually like. I’m very pleased with this painting, and although I think the tree is still the weakest area, it’s definitely an improvement over my summer trees of the past.

Watercolor 160703 Distant Hills

I’m especially fond of my bush on the left. I like the skies, too. I’m not completely satisfied with the shape of the tree (the scanner cuts off part of it) but I’m getting closer to where I want to be with my landscape painting.

Thanks for letting me share my little work of art today. It’s especially fun to share something that I feel good about. I hope I continue to improve day by day.

 

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

33 comments

  1. so wonderful to watch your growth – both in talent AND confidence! YAY Judith! Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad that you like this painting, Judith. πŸ™‚ It is beautiful! I especially love the tree trunk and layering of the leaves. I also like the bushes on top of the mountain. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this painting. You are right the tree looks so real!!

    Like

  4. Love how I can see your improvement and growth….so cool! Now…..you know what? I like to use a Japanese sumi brush for doing foliage. I don’t always remember to grab it because I am either in too much of a hurry to get it all done with the brush I am using. But when I do remember to use my sumi brush I love how you can get such wonderful variation with color and strokes. I can find a youtube video for you or maybe you can google it. Believe me, I love it. I will post a painting on Facebook where I have used the sumi brush for foliage, so you can see…..great work Judith!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! I’ll search around a bit. The sumi brush sounds very intriguing. I’ve been doing a lot of leafy foliage lately. It’s finally starting to come out more like it should.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your skies are just too perfect 😍I want to practice it! And Thanks for the video too πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Pingback: Lucky Indeed | Carrie Cordero Designs

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

