Something Silent

Lately I’ve been doing a lot more “wishy-washy” watercolors…for lack of a better term. What I mean, of course, are paintings with a softer effect.

This is similar to the scene I painted on the first day of World Watercolor Month. I was frustrated and disappointed then with the buildings I added. For this scene, I decided to try it again, only to do the buildings in silhouette.

So I created this twilight country scene with a very limited palette. I used only burnt sienna, Payne’s gray, and a bit of yellow ochre.

Watercolor 160709 Shadows at Twilight

I really enjoyed using these colors, and creating the shadowy effects. And…oops! Looks like I’ve got another speck on the scanner. I do think I’ll go back and tweak the tree on the left. For the most part, I’m happy with the painting. I like the beginnings of a personal style that are developing in my watercolor.

I hope you like this painting, too.

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

20 comments

  1. This is so beautiful and calming. I love it Judith. You are developing a very recognizable style. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like this a lot !! Very Purposeful. Very good design, depth, distance that you, have created! Well done! 😊 Debi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Debi. I do have problems judging size when I add elements like buildings — or people. I wasn’t sure if my collection of buildings was a little too large or not. Or maybe the trees need to be bigger. I’ll learn with more practice 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • i loved the sense of harmony, clarity and the wonderful depth and distance you achieved in this….. didn’t look/worry or consider the sizes. this is what i mean when i talk about how harmony and clarity, balance – the mood and feeling of a painting, can overcome ANY little wee oops that might exist.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks so much. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Definitely like! Beautiful, serene and so loose. That relax feeling in your paintings is what draws me in all the time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. going wishy washy is a good way to get your feet wet, a good plan I believe….I really like that tree at the bottom left 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. this is beautiful –

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dawnmarie

    I love the way you did this. Your limited palette is so pretty and the little building in the back add a nice place for my eyes to go to.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Absolutely love! Beautiful painting, Judith 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great painting Judith! You always mention how you struggle to paint a lone tree, but that bottom left one is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. These are my favorite colors! Burnt Sienna, grays, yellow ochres and, of course, black!I love it when you do scenes like this. They really give me a sense of calm, which I kind of need right now because of all the work deadlines! (sigh)

    And… I see the flying hat makes an appearance again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

