Something Primary

I was in another “playful” painting mood today. With everything going on, the trips to help my sister, and a lot of other things to do, I find it difficult to get into a painterly state of mind. I don’t want to spend a lot of time drawing scenes or thinking too much about what I’m going to paint.

When I grabbed my paints for this watercolor, I had thoughts of painting flowers. My husband had brought home a beautiful bouquet. When I reached for my brushes, though, I felt that painting flowers would require more thought and effort than I wanted to invest.

Instead, I just grabbed red — for roses — and began washing color on the paper. I dabbed out a few flowery shapes with tissue, and I liked the effect, but I wanted more color. So I reached for blue. And then to finish out the primary triad, I added in a bit of yellow.

Watercolor 160722 Primary Colors (2)

I suppose it could be flowers, or maybe it’s raindrops, or maybe it’s a sky with sunlight shining through. It doesn’t really know what it wants to be, but that’s all right.

Over the next few days, I’ll be on the road quite a bit. There won’t be much time for painting. It’s nice to pick up a brush and simple play with watercolors. It’s all part of the same artistic journey, and even though it might appear as though I’m doing little, I think taking a break from my art studies is a good thing right now. I’m hoping once things settle down a bit and I resume my lessons, I’ll make swift strides in many areas.

Until then, I’m going to have fun playing with my paints and brushes.

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

16 comments

  1. The painting’s energy is a rainy feeling for me, or maybe because it is raining here now. Though rain is the primary feeling, as a whole it is happy, bright and full of possibilities. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We can have different “painterly” moods (I like that word πŸ™‚ ). And it is good to paint your feelings. Work has been stressful for me, and I am finding my painting time more and more relaxing. I’m just glad you put brush and paint to paper. Sometimes that’s all we need. I get it! Hope things get better with your sis.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so worn out right now, Jodi. I’ll be getting up and hitting the road early tomorrow. My sister needs a lot of help right now, and while I’m visiting she wants me to go through drawers and closets looking for some things she’s misplaced. I still enjoy picking up a brush in the evenings. I just don’t feel like putting a lot of effort — or thought — into what goes onto the paper. For now, that’s all right. Just seeing different effects with colors is enjoyable. Thank you so much for all the good thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Take care of yourself as you deal with all the travelling and the situation with your sister, stressful times. At least you have a wonderful outlet with your painting! going loose and just playing with paint is the perfect way to release stress. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dawnmarie

    I hope everything is going as smoothly as it can for you right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Dawn. Yes, I think things are about as smooth as they’re going to be for a while. Driving to St. Joseph is going to be part of my regular routine for a while. She needs help beyond the care she gets from the staff…help with things like shopping. I’m glad I can be there at least a couple times a week.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

