Something Different

I did do a watercolor for today, but I wasn’t happy with it. The colors looked horrible together, and I joked about calling today’s post “Something Awful” or even “Something Ugly”.

But then as I got ready for my husband’s visit to the retinologist, I did what I always do. I grabbed a sketchbook, a 2B pencil, and an eraser. It’s become a habit for me to draw while we’re sitting in the doctor’s office.

Because the appointment was scheduled for the afternoon, we had a much longer day of it than when he has morning appointments. Instead of being in and out in an hour or so, we were at the office for about three hours. Plenty of time for sketching.

What did I draw?

Well, I started with my favorite subject, of course.

Graphite 160701

 

It felt good to sit down with pencil in hand. I’d forgotten how relaxing sketching can be, and it was wonderful to rediscover the feeling. I wish the scan had come out better.

I did get a bit messy. It’s been so long since I’ve sketched with graphite that I’d forgotten how easy it can be to smudge a drawing with my hand. On a positive note, I feel that the practice I’ve done with watercolor this month has helped me immensely with the idea of “creating illusions” with art. Although it’s hard to see on the poor-quality scan, the foliage on my tree looks much more natural than what I’ve drawn in the past. I was pleased that I was able to “see” and “create” the illusion of leaves.

During our visit, I went on to sketch other things, too. I filled several pages with little doodles of leaves and bushes, faces, gesture drawings. I had a very fun day of drawing.

And for more positive news, my husband’s vision has improved significantly in both eyes. He won’t have to go back to the retinologist for two months. I also spoke with my sister yesterday evening when we finally got home from the city. She’s started her physical therapy, and while she’s still very weak and tires easily, overall she’s feeling much, much better.

Today I’ll go back to my watercolors and then spend a little time preparing for my daughter’s visit. We’re looking forward to seeing her. I’ll be taking a month-long “artΒ break” for my own version of summer vacation, and then I’ll resume my art studies in September.

So, over the next few days, I’ll finish up with World Watercolor Month, straighten up my art room, and get things ready for our “California Girl’s” return to Missouri.

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

8 comments

  1. That is an amazing sketch! Yay for good news and daughters visit! ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a relaxed sketch, Judith. I liked that the smudges made it feel like it was windy and the leaves are dancing! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, what a nice way to look at those smudges. πŸ™‚ I felt a little silly when I saw what I’d done. It’s been a while since I’d done much with graphite. This was a nice change of pace.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love smudges! It gives the drawing that loose feeling. Please do more graphites. You’re awesome at it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! It was so relaxing to doodle, and yes, I’m going to do more graphite drawings. πŸ™‚ Your drawings are so inspirational for me. I hope to have more time for visiting blogs. I can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t posted much the last couple of weeks. Work’s been keeping me pretty occupied but I’m glad the blogs I follow have all been busy posting. I’m glad I inspire you. Your journey is an inspiration for me, too. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s a kind thing to say. I really appreciate your encouragement. πŸ™‚

        Like

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

