Slowly but Surely

I have mixed emotions about today’s oil painting. I like it, but I don’t love it. It’s got a lot of good things, I think, but it’s got its flaws, too. That’s to be expected, of course. With each painting I do, I realize how far I’ve come in a very short time, and yet I also realize how very far I have to go.

2-frames

I like the sky. Maybe it could use a little more blending, or maybe I need to add more brilliant titanium white …or maybe it’s fine the way it is. For the most part, I feel comfortable painting skies, and I am usually pleased with the result. That doesn’t mean I can’t improve, but it does give me a good feeling to look at the skies and clouds in my paintings and like what I see.

Mountains. I’m learning. What can I say? Sometimes my hills and mountains look good. Other times, I can’t get them right no matter what I do. I wiped this mountain range out a couple of times before I finally got a few peaks I could live with. But then, I totally forget about putting in any foothills. I should definitely have painted in a distant tree line. I was so relieved to finally have the mountains about right that my brain just skipped over everything else, I guess.

I’m definitely struggling with trees. Once in a while, they look right. Most of the time, they’re either too shaggy or too sparse, too big or too small, too lopsided, too crooked, too dark, or too light. I know trees don’t grow perfectly straight and tall. I know their branches aren’t symmetrical. I do want my trees to have a little character to them, but I’m not to that point yet. I’m still trying to get the basic shapes and sizes right. It all takes time.

In some respects, I like the foreground, but then…do I have the light in the right places? I think my shadows are going the wrong direction, and I was never completely certain if those were supposed to be rocks or bushes along the edge. Sometimes they looked like bushes. Other times, I saw rocks. I dabbled with both ideas and ended up with something in between. Bushy rocks. Or maybe they’re rocky bushes.

All in all, despite the missteps and imperfections, I was fairly pleased with this “Mountain View”. I plan to keep painting mountain peaks until I feel really comfortable with them. After that, I’ll move on to those pesky trees and try to improve on them. I’ll work on lakes. I’ll do a few river scenes. Gradually I’ll even start adding in buildings and people. Animals, too.

I’m in no rush to do it all at once. I’m enjoying this new oil-painting journey, and I like taking my step-by-step approach. Slowly, but surely, I’m getting to where I’ve always wanted to be.

Note: I mentioned in one post that I would be signing my oil paintings. I’ve been trying…really, I have. I just haven’t managed to sign my paintings in a way that I like. On this painting, I signed my name three times, and wiped it away because it just didn’t “look right”. One more thing to learn!
About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

10 comments

  1. I love these posts… I use to oil paint often (my father is an oil painter) and I can relate to all that you are writing. I love to watch your progression and your analysis of your works.

    You are inspiring me…I have not picked up a brush for 3 or 4 years but I think maybe during Christmas I will paint something (probably will turn out horrible but without practice that is what happens). Please keep up these posts!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, yes, please do pick up those brushes again! Nothing makes me happier than knowing my journey has inspired others. I’m so glad you’re following my progress, and I hope to keep improving. Please, feel free to offer any suggestions. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this painting ! The road is beautiful !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Cathy. I’m moving closer toward being the artist I’ve always wanted to be, and I intend to keep practicing, practicing, practicing. I am really loving oils, and I look forward to painting every day.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can see how well-suited oils are for you! The paintings you’ve done these past weeks are amazing and truly beautiful! I bet they look fantastic when they pick up the natural light in the room!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have several I’m planning to frame. It will be nice to see them hanging on the wall. Several family members want one of my oil paintings, so I will be busy painting. It’s a nice feeling when I see my art on other people’s walls or when someone asks me to do a drawing or painting for them. I never thought that would ever happen LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. dawnmarie

    I am drawn to the light and the pink…and I think you did a great job.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

