Another Day…Another Mountain

I’ve just finished my painting session for today. Another mountain scene. To be honest about it, I feel as if I’ve spent the morning climbing these mountains. I’m exhausted. It was a struggle, and here’s what I have to show for my efforts:

autumn-mountain

I don’t know why I can’t get a larger photo. It’s been one of those days, so I’m not going to concern myself too much about the size. I fought with my internet connection all morning, then fought with my paints and brushes, so right now I’m just going into “let it be” mode. It is what it is, as folks like to say.

But, what is this, really? Well, it’s a mountain scene, and even though it’s difficult to see the details clearly in the small picture, it’s intended to be “Autumn in the Mountains”.  That’s supposed to be a river running through the scene with lots of autumn-colored trees in the middle and lots of foliage in the foreground. It seems the picture is lacking something…so I considered adding a big tree, but then I reconsidered. Not today. I’ve had enough hassle, and I’d probably end up with another gigantic, out-of-proportion monstrosity. I decided I was relatively happy with this painting as it is, so I left it alone.

When I look back at mountains I’ve painted, I sometimes do like them. While I’m painting them, however, I never think they look right. As I mentioned in another post — What I’ve Learned — I can’t really tell how a painting will look until I stop, step back, and see it from a distance. I’m trying to do that more as I paint. Step back. Assess. Paint. Step back. Assess. Maybe that will help.

I was asking myself earlier why I keep painting mountains when they are such a struggle for me. That, of course, is exactly why I keep painting them. Mountain climbers often say they climb mountains “Because they’re there,” and I suppose that’s part of the reason I insist on painting them. They’re there. I love mountain scenes, and I want to paint them.

So, expect to see a lot more mountains. I’m not going to give up until I’ve reached my personal “peak” — the ability to paint mountains with ease, to paint mountain peaks that look realistic, to create mountain scenes that have light, shadow, and depth.

It’s going to take a while. Mountain climbing isn’t easy, and for me, neither is mountain-painting, but I’ll keep plodding along, one step at a time.

 

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

6 comments

  1. I love your mountain paintings, giant trees or not, and it’s been so fun to follow along with your oil painting experiences 🙂 I’ve always found landscapes extra challenging because they take a lot of discipline not to get obsessed and overload it with detail, especially forests and mountains with all their strange shapes and shadows. It’s great that you keep working at it even if it isn’t always enjoyable. Out of curiosity, do you live near mountains, or where do you get your inspiration for these?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for following along on my journey. I’m glad you’re enjoying it with me. I like in the Midwest. We have hills, but no mountains. I think maybe that’s why I like painting them, if that makes any sense. I’ve always been drawn to the mountains. I also love rivers and forests, so landscape painting fits my interests more than anything else I’ve done in art. I love figure drawing and portraits, but even more I want to do landscapes. My inspiration comes purely from my imagination. Occasionally I’ll print out a reference photo of a mountain range, but my drawings or paintings always deviate from the reality.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I also love your mountains. More so I love the reason that you are doing them…. “because they are there”..loving your attitude. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much. I don’t know if I’m getting any better or not, but I’ll just keep on painting those mountains until I’m happy with them. And then, I’ll paint more!

      Like

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

