Getting Carried Away

I’ve been watching a lot of tutorials on how to paint mountains with oils. I’ve learned a lot of tips and while I haven’t perfected any of the techniques, I’ve had fun practicing. One tutorial I watched — by Jason Bowen, I believe — suggested making lots of mountains. “Fill up the canvas with mountains”, he said.

Maybe I wasn’t supposed to take him quite so literally, but after painting my first mountain range today, I had no idea what to do with the rest of the canvas, so, yep. I just kept painting more mountains.

As you can see, I wanted a darker, more intense color. I think I went a little overboard. All in all, I think I got a bit carried away with making mountains today.

oil-1208-2

I want to get more variations in the peaks of my mountains, find ways to make them more interesting…but right now, I think maybe I’ve had enough of mountains for a while. Aren’t you glad!

What’s next? Probably trees and bushes. Oh, I’m sure I’ll still do a few mountain peaks in some of my landscapes, so you’ll see be seeing themΒ now and then. But, it’s time to move on to other things.

Nature has so much beauty for us to enjoy! And so many things to paint. Trees, bushes, rivers, lakes…yes, it’s time for a slight change of scenery.

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

12 comments

  1. I love it! It’s not too much at all , for me, because mountains are like that ! They fill everything ! This is gorgeous and powerful !

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is outstanding Judith 😍 keep up the great work πŸ‘πŸΌ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dawnmarie

    Not too much at all!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Let Me Count The Ways… | Artistcoveries

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

