Merry Christmas

merry-christmas-artistcoveries

When I began learning to draw in June 2015, I was too embarrassed to show my scribbles to anyone. A few weeks later, though, I was beginning to see some progress, and I shared my excitement with my husband.

“Just think,” he told me. “By Christmas time you’ll be able to illustrate your own cards.”

Although I doubted it, his words proved to be true. I could have drawn a scene for our holiday cards last year. I didn’t do it because I was still working only in graphite, charcoal, and conte. Christmas deserved a little more color.

Now that I’ve spent most of 2016 working with colored pencils, pastels, watercolors, and oils, I knew that I definitely wanted to create a little card to share with all my online friends.

It was a quite a fun adventure. I grabbed a piece of hard cardboard, mixed a bit of oil paint with some sunflower oil, and started brushing it onto the surface. I had a vision in my head — and in my heart. Just a very simple little scene of pale blue and a touch of pink. A few blue pine trees. A “vignette” feeling. I wanted it to look almost as if the card were a sign hanging for all to see.

After painting the scene, I added the text with a photo-editing program, and here it is, ready to express my best wishes to everyone who’s visited and followed me at “Artistcoveries”.

May this holiday season be filled with love and joy!

 

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

4 comments

  1. Merry Christmas! Here’s to another year of inspiration and creativity !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for such a greeting on your pretty Christmas card. Hope you had a terrific Christmas. Wishing you all the best for 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

