Digital Fun

Recently I shared a “digital abstract” for our monthly Draw-a-Bird celebration, and earlier I’d shared another of my digital artworks. It truly is a different form of art, and for me, it’s an opportunity to have fun without even thinking about either the process or the result. I don’t know how to use digital graphics programs like Photoshop or GIMP, so I just play around with them until I come up with something I like.

Until I did the “bird-that-doesn’t-look-like-a-bird” picture, I hadn’t played around with computer art for years. Now, having rediscovered how much fun it can be, I’m once again opening up GIMP and creating new things.

Here’s one of my recent digital works. I call it “Proclamation”.

2017-01-08-7

I chose that title because the image in the center reminded me of a fanciful castle in a mythical land. The “page curl” immediately made me think of a parchment scroll. The king has issued an important proclamation, it seems, and, of course, I’m wondering what it might be.

Is he announcing the marriage of his daughter? Issuing an edict to his subjects? Calling for a military build-up? The picture leaves me wondering, and I think that’s an important part of art.

One of the reasons I love creating digital art is because it’s so easy for me to see stories in the pictures I make. While I can occasionally see stories in my drawings, I haven’t yet reached the point where I can tell tales with my oil paintings. So, for now, I’ll go GIMP-ing along and having fun with digital creations.

And if you’re looking for free programs, I do recommend GIMP — which, I believe, stands for GNU Image Manipulation Program. It’s free, and you can find it here.

Have fun!

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

