One More for the Recycle Bin

Wednesday was probably the worst day I’ve had with oil painting. Ever. Of course, since I’ve only been painting with oil for about 7 weeks, that’s not saying much, I’ll admit. I’m sure that many more bad days at the easel await me in my future. How’s that for optimism?

In all honesty, I have to say that the entire day was awful. No, wait. It started out fine. I spent time enjoying the wonderful whirlpool tub my husband installed for me, plus, I was looking forward to painting. On Tuesday morning I’d bought a few new tubes of oil paint, including a red ochre that I was excited to try.

But then the day took a downhill turn. My mood soured a bit when I went in the back room to do a bit of housecleaning. I looked at all the paintings there — some finally dry, others still in the drying process — and I considered how many of them would be painted over. I do have a few I like, but most of my paintings have been relegated to what I call my “recycle bin”. They’re simply waiting their turn to be re-used.

While I was there I tried to retrieve messages from voicemail, only to discover that I’d lost the instructions on how to do it. Those instructions also had the PIN code written down. I tried several that came to mind. None worked. Finally, I found the instructions, tried again, and discovered that I was now “locked out of your voice mail portal.” Great. I figured a simple call to our ISP would resolve the issue. Wrong. It took several hours and several phone calls before I was able to get back into the system to get the messages — neither of which was important.

I figured I might as well give Amazon customer service a call, too. I’ve been having problems with my old Kindle. Again, the process involved several phone calls, and in the end, the news wasn’t good. Apparently it’s time to bid a fond farewell to my antiquated device. Oh, but the tech was wonderful about it. “I have bad news and good news for you,” he said. The good news was that Amazon was giving me a nice credit toward the purchase of a new Kindle.

By the time I started to paint, my enthusiasm had waned. I had hoped to paint some glorious autumn trees, and I really wanted to try out that red ochre. Sadly, after wiping off the canvas and starting over three times, I gave up. I just couldn’t do anything right.

The best I could manage was a fairly-decent sky, and from a distance, the tree-covered hills are all right. Maybe. I’m not even showing the entire painting because the rest of it is so hideous, but here’s the good part:

oil-170105-skies-and-clouds

Actually, the more I look at it, the less I like the tree-covered hilltops, and if I look longer, I’ll probably decide that I hate the skies and clouds, too.

The painting is destined for the recycle bin, and no, I never did open that red ochre. I’ll save that for another day when things are going more my way.

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

12 comments

  1. I’d say keep going! I like what I can see.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, but the rest was a disaster. It was supposed to be a country road leading toward those distant hills, but it just looked like an awkward patch of beige paint in the middle of the picture. It wasn’t pretty 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jui

    I hope you will soon use that red ochre. Keep up the good work! Looking forward to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You might be a bit rough on yourself. I like that painting! You have a natural looseness that is very refreshing. I would have probably guessed you painted in watercolors instead of oils. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did a lot of watercolor painting last summer, but I was never good at it. Trust me, the rest of the “recycle bin” picture was horrible. LOL I only showed a little piece of it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am sure all will be fine soon and you will be able to paint as you imagine.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yeah. Days like those make you feel like you are in the middle of a Kafka novel. Thankfully, they only last a day. And it is very unlikely they come in pairs. There is a lot of movement in your piece. I think it feels very exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The sky looks so pretty! Funny how our mood sometimes impacts our art. I am currently doing a paint over right now. I have a lot in my recycle bin!

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 Glad I’m not the only one. You’re right. Our mood can have a huge impact on our art. I find that distractions really affect me, too. I usually paint when I’m alone, so when my husband is home I really seem to struggle with it. I really need my “quiet time” for art.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

