A Scene from Childhood

framed-trees-01-22

Today I painted a grassy hillside reminiscent of scenes from my childhood. I loved spending time in woodsy areas and for me, this simple painting captures a sense of the terrain where I grew up.

There’s a lot I like about this painting. Instead of my usual blue skies with white clouds, I created a rosy early-morning sky. Around here, that’s a good indication that rain will fall before day’s end. I even like my trees more than usual. I can imagine maybe they’re swaying a bit in the wind, as are the tall grasses.

I’m finding that I have an “old-fashioned” spirit when it comes to painting, and that’s how this painting feels to me. Adding the “antique frame” with a photo program seemed to make it all come together.

Most of all, I like the sky, and I like that, for once, I can put a story to a painting. I can think about where it takes me, and I can think about what might happen later, after the rain begins to fall.

That feels good. It’s nice to find bits and pieces of myself in the paintings that I do, and it is helping me understand the style I want to develop.

I hope you like the painting.

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

4 comments

  1. I do like it! – It always helps to have an emotional connection to a piece of work, I think, because it really helps us give it our best effort 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love it…it looks like a peaceful place to walk or just be. Keep up your great work!😉

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

