How to Ruin a Painting in One Easy Step

Getting back to painting has proved far more difficult than I’d expected. It’s nerve-wracking, although I can’t say exactly why.

Last week I set about doing another landscape, and all things considered, I actually did a fairly good job. I had snow-covered pine trees that looked like they were supposed to. I had an icy-looking little pond. And I had snow! In the past, I’ve had a terrible time painting snow. This time, I “laid it in” with a palette knife and thick applications of Titanium White paint. Oh, it looked so good.

But my skies weren’t right. I hated the colors. So, having failed to learn the lesson about not trying to “tweak” skies after completing the rest of the painting, I futilely attempted to change the hues in the heavens.

The result, of course, was disaster. So I grabbed a rag, and here’s what I ended up with:

 

Painting

I thought of calling this “Unintentional Abstract” but it wasn’t good enough for that.

I have to admit, it felt good to just wipe away all of the paint. I smeared it around the canvas a little, and I think that helped to alleviate some of the anxiety I’ve been feeling whenever I get close to my easel.

I did one thing more, as well. I challenged myself to find a way to salvage this ruined painting. Oh, I did something else, too. I bought myself a few new brushes and a bit more Titanium White paint. Unlike my earlier experiences while art shopping when I felt out-of-place and undeserving, strolling down the aisles now reminds me that I amย an artist. It’s a good feeling.

I’ve already begun re-vamping the ruined canvas, and I’ll be posting my progress as I go along. It’s going to be another landscape, but I don’t yet have a clear vision in my head. Who knows what it’s going to be! I don’t. But whatever it is, it will be better than the ruined canvas. I’m going to have fun with this one.

 

 

 

About Judith

Author, artist, and an independent consultant for Perfectly Posh. I enjoy sharing my thoughts and interests through blogging and invite you to visit my sites.

6 comments

  1. You can do it, Judith! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. The re-do is coming along well. I’m taking my time and enjoying what I’m doing. I’ll be posting an update on Monday, so you can check it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Re-do: Step 1 | Artistcoveries

  3. dawnmarie

    I think I am going to change the name of my blog to ruined canvas. Ya, I tweaked a sky last night. Not happy.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love to Hear Your Thoughts!

